Top 5 Players With Most IPL Matches As A Captain

MS Dhoni
Image Credit- Twitter


The captain assumes a vital part in each cricket match. A captain’s choice can make and break a match. The captain takes numerous choices like bowling changes, handling changes, batting position sets, choosing batting or handling after the throw, and so forth.

A decent captain generally assumes the fault on him subsequent to losing a game and consistently credits his partners in the wake of dominating a game. Furthermore, choosing an exact playing 11 by perceiving the great players is likewise his work. In IPL we have seen many captains yet not very many could leave an imprint at the top positions.

Here Is The List Of Top 5 Players With Most IPL Matches As A Captain

5. David Warner

David Warner has a success level of 48.19, as he has won 40 matches out of 83 matches in the IPL for Sunrisers Hyderabad and Delhi Capitals. He has consistently driven from the front and made the group champion in 2016. Warner has ended up being the most important unfamiliar player in IPL with 6311 runs in 175 matches, which is the third most by any player in IPL history.

4. Virat Kohli

In terms of the most wins in IPL as captain, RCB and current Indian group captain Virat Kohli drove RCB multiple times and won 66 matches (46.15). Be that as it may, Illustrious Challengers Bangalore is yet, tragically to be the hero of the IPL. The most superior batting setup in IPL has not been fortunate yet. Indeed, even subsequent to being the most elevated run-getter in IPL history (6957), Kohli doesn’t have an IPL crown.

3. Gautam Gambhir

Gautam Gambhir has played as a captain multiple times and has brought his group back home multiple times with a noteworthy success level of 55.42. KKR (Kolkata Knight Riders) has worn the crown of IPL twice (2012 &2014) during Gambhir’s captaincy. KKR couldn’t win the prize for quite a long time however finally Gambhir’s initiative had an effect and they vanquished it without precedent in 2012.

2. Rohit Sharma

The best Captain of the IPL has been Rohit Sharma. He has driven Mumbai Indians in 158 matches and has appreciated triumph in 87 matches. Rohit’s success rate is the second most noteworthy (55.06) among captains.

Mumbai Indians became champions without precedent in 2013 and from that point onward, they won it 4 additional times (2015, 2017, 2019, and 2020). Fans knew that Rohit is a disastrous opener however later he showed his fantastic captaincy abilities and turned into the best captain of the IPL.

1. MS Dhoni

Previous Indian and Chennai Super Rulers captain MS Dhoni has played the most number of matches 226 as a captain and has won 133 matches with a success level of 58.84. Under Dhoni’s initiative, CSK has worn the crown multiple times (2010,2011, 2018, 2021, and 2023). CSK has played 12 end-of-the-season games with the assistance of the astounding captainship of MS Dhoni. So Dhoni has the most wins as captain in IPL.

Leave a Comment